Following an arrest, a Colorado bondsman can help release you on the assurance that you appear on your future court dates. Colorado bail bonds have one of the highest bail bond costs, which can go up to 15%. That is more than the traditional 10 percent implemented by other states.
The bail amounts listed in this article are estimates. The exact amount varies depending on age, details on the charge, criminal history, and past records of missing court hearings. Below is a list of the 10 common colorado crimes with their corresponding bail amounts and crime statistics based on the 2018 FBI database and Colorado Crime Statistics.
With 221 cases, manslaughter is defined as the unlawful killing without prior intent.
When the same act is committed under circumstances involving uncontrollable mental or emotional anguish or while committing a felony, it is categorized as Voluntary Manslaughter. The set bail for voluntary manslaughter is $100,000.
Involuntary manslaughter, on the other hand, is charged when death is caused by a non-felony crime like reckless driving. The starting bail amount required for this is set at $25,000.
The lowest bail of $25,000 is for manslaughter charges on those who have no to light criminal history and don’t pose a threat risk. In this case, the defendant still needs to come up with 10 percent of the $25,000 bail amount, which is a non-refundable $2,500, and pay it to the Colorado bondsman. Look for companies that offer bail bonds Colorado residents trust.
Sexual assault is a felony in Colorado. Sexual assault is defined as rape and other acts of penetration and/or intrusion. It has a bail amount of up to $750,000.
Penalties may increase up to $1 million if there are aggravating factors such as the following:
- The victim is a minor
- The assailant is aided by another person
- The victim suffered from severe physical injury
- The assailant threatened the victim with a deadly weapon,
- The assailant has a history of violent crime
- The assailant was on parole, on probation, on bond
- The victim was pregnant
At 3,798 cases, robbery has a bail amount ranging from $25,000 to $100,000. For a first-degree robbery, a $100,000 bail bond is attached; for 2nd degree, it’s $50,000.
At the low end of the spectrum, $25,000 is the minimum bail for a robbery charge which includes:
- Secondary degree robberies
- Robbery of dangerous controlled substances
When force/fear or firearm is used, the bail amount automatically increases to $50,000. For individuals with a previous felony, the bail required is $100,000 minimum.
To date, Colorado has 14,547 cases of aggravated assault. The bail amount ranges from $2,500 to $10,000, depending on the type of assault.
Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)/Driving Under the Influence (DUI)
There are roughly 21,269 DUIs in Colorado per year, but it depends on the state whether drug use impairment is included in those arrests. Some states categorize DUI and DWI separately while some group them all as DUI offenses. In Colorado, a DUI charge includes drug impairment. The bail amount is set at $500 to $2,500 depending on history and details surrounding the offense
A second DUI charge increases bail to $10,000, and a third one is $15,000 with some legal consequences regarding driving rights. A 4th DUI charge turns misdemeanor into a felony. A $50,000 bail bond is attached to this.
Number of cases: 21,489. The required bail amount is $20,000 minimum but up to $50,000 in some areas. If committed on a residential property, the amount is $50,000. If sexual offense is included, the bail amount can automatically go up to 1 million dollars. It’s also the same if a violent assault or endangering behavior is included.
For possession of a controlled substance, the bail amount is set anywhere within $500 to much more. A bond of $1,000 is set for those who are proven, narcotic addicts. A second offense requires a bail amount of $10,000. The exact charges depend on whether it’s possession, distribution, alteration labels, or mixing substance in beverages.
Currently, there are around 22,512 drug possession and related cases in Colorado.
Carjacking and Vehicle Theft
With 22,609 cases, carjacking is defined as taking the vehicle with threat and force while the owner is still in the car. The bail amount is between $25,000 and $100,000. This requires bail hearing before finalizing the exact bail amount.
Vehicle theft or burglary, on the other hand, is taking the vehicle without the owner being present. Bail is set at $2,500 and $5,000 in most states.
The Colorado court system deals with roughly 112,845 larceny and theft cases. Class 2 misdemeanor theft is charged if the stolen property is less than 500 dollars. Classified as petty theft, it comes with a $250 bail amount. The maximum sentence is $1000.
Class 1 misdemeanor is charged if the property stolen is more than $500 and less than $1,000. The bail amount is $500 and a maximum of $5,000.
It becomes a class 4 felony theft if the property value is more than $1,000 but less than $20,000, and the bail ranges from $2,000 to $500,000.
With 152,163 cases, the defacement of property offense involves destroying the physical appearance of written instruments, landmarks, and other private or public property.
In Colorado, property destruction is a criminal offense. A class 1 misdemeanor defacing charge has an attached bail of up to $5,000. And additional payment to repair or replace the defaced property.
The bail amount depends on the value of the destroyed property as listed below:
- Less than $300 (Class 3 misdemeanor) – up to $750 bail
- $300 to less than $750 (Class 2 misdemeanor) – Up to $1,000 bail
- $750 to less than $1,000 (Class 1 misdemeanor) – Up to $5,000 bail
- $1,000 to less than $5,000 (Class 6 felony) – Up to $100,000 bail
- $5,000 to less than $20,000 Class 5 felony) – Up to $100,000 bail with more years of imprisonment compared with class 6 felony
- $20,000 to less than $100,000 (Class 4 felony) – Up to $500,000 bail
- $100,000 to less than 1 million Dollars (Class 3 felony) – Up to $750,000 bail
- Over 1 million Dollars (Class 2 felony) – Up to 1 million Dollars bail
With large bail amounts, it is important to seek bail bonds that Colorado natives can benefit from. While most charges have a set bail amount, some crimes are too severe for the judge to allow bail and a release of the defendant before trial.
When it comes to misdemeanor or felony offenses in Colorado, trust the best and most experienced agency offering Colorado bail bonds. Call Lucero’s Bail Bonds at 303-573-5555 today!