Everything You Need to Know About Colorado Bail Laws

Everything You Need to Know About Colorado Bail Laws

After you or someone you know has been arrested in Colorado, you generally can post bail to regain your freedom temporarily. Posting bail ensures you appear at your court hearing despite not spending time in jail. If the total bail amount is too much for you, you can pay a percentage of that through bail bondsman in Colorado.

However, before you hire a bondsman from Aurora, CO, here are the bail laws in the state you should know about.

The judge has the power and authority to set the conditions of your freedom.

In Colorado, the judge has the legal right to detain non-residents who commit offenses within the state. When a judge rules using the “abuse of discretion standard,” the ruling is not reversible on appeal unless there has been proven abuse of that discretion. On appeal, a lower Court will only be found abusive if the Court’s discretion if the decision was manifestly arbitrary, unreasonable, or unfair, or if the Court misconstrues or misapplied the law.

Colorado law mandates that the primary interest in setting the amount and conditions of bail is to ensure that the defendant will appear at the time and place of his court hearing. To understand better the conditions set under this, it’s best to hire bail bonds in Aurora, CO and seek advice from industry experts.

A new bill has eliminated cash bail for minor crimes.

In Colorado, the bail premium or fee is 15% or a minimum of $50. Typically for bonds $5,000 or larger, a bondsman in Aurora, CO charges 10% of the full bail amount with an approved cosigner. For example, if the bail amount is $5,000, you are charged a fee of $500. Additionally, most jails or courts charge bonding, booking, or filing fees ranging anywhere from $5 to $50 each.

Recently, Colorado’s newest criminal justice laws state that for petty crimes and minor offenses, lawmakers have decided to junk cash bail. Coloradans would no longer have to sit in jail for sleeping in the park or engaging in public drinking because they’re unable to pay bail. The law bans judges from setting monetary bail for traffic offenses and petty crimes unless a defendant chooses to pay instead of waiting for a bond hearing.

There are four ways to get out of jail.

In Colorado, there are four different ways to regain your freedom until the court hearing. This could be through your own recognizance, a cash bond, a surety bond, or a property bond. You can be released through your own recognizance if you have a clean record and a higher chance of actually showing up in court for scheduled trials. However, not all courts in the state accept property bonds since these are complicated and very lengthy to process.

With the state’s newest laws debunking cash bail for minor offenses, you don’t have to pay a set amount for petty crimes until your court date arrives.

Learn about Colorado’s bail laws with the help of a trustworthy bail bonds office in Aurora, CO. Visit Lucero’s Bail Bonds! Call us at 303-573-5555 today!

By | 2019-12-10T10:31:31-07:00 November 15th, 2019|Bail Bond, Bail Bonds|Comments Off on Everything You Need to Know About Colorado Bail Laws

About the Author: