What are the Common Domestic Violence Charges in Colorado?

What are the Common Domestic Violence Charges in Colorado?

bail bonds boulder colorado

The act of domestic violence occurs when there is violence committed, or threatening of violence happened to the victim whom he or she is intimately involved and has been involved intimately in the past. 

In this case, an intimate relationship does not necessarily mean the victim and the actor are married or living together. As long as they share an intimate relationship, the act of domestic violence is possible. Domestic violence can happen between spouses, former spouses, domestic partners, boyfriends, girlfriends, children, and roommates. 

In Colorado, domestic violence is not an independent crime. Instead, it is a sentencing enhancer for any offense the actor committed to the victim who has shared an intimate relationship with him/her.

The following are some of the common offenses that include domestic violence as a sentence enhancer.


It’s unlawfully causing an injury to another individual. It can be classified as a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the circumstances. The penalties for assault depend on its degree: first-degree, second-degree, and third-degree. 


It is also known as “Vonnie’s law.” It involves an unwanted and/or repeated surveillance of another person. Under the law, it is considered stalking if there is a credible threat and recurring behavior that causes the person to be frightened or have emotional distress.


The Colorado law defines it as “intentionally bothering, annoying, or alarming someone by way of repeated contact, obscene gestures, hitting, taunting, or following in public.” Harassment is classified as a misdemeanor offense in Colorado punishable with jail time and fines. But harassing a person based on his or her religion, race, or disability can incur more severe punishments and penalties. 

Child Abuse

It includes harming a minor below 16 years old, which can cause any form of danger to the minor. It is categorized as a misdemeanor offense if the minor does not form any serious injury due to the abuse. Otherwise, the charge will be escalated to a felony. Either way, there is a possible chance to get a temporary release through bail bonds in Boulder CO.

Sexual Contact

It is also known as sexual battery, in which the offender commits unlawful sexual contact with the victim. Unlike sexual assault, it involved unwanted touching without penetration. Sexual contact is usually a lesser form of sexual assault offense. 


It occurred when a person used threats or actions knowingly or attempting to put the other person in fear or any imminent serious bodily injury. Menacing means making criminal threats and may be charged along with assault. 

False Imprisonment

It is a crime of the illegal detention of the victim without his or her consent. The offender does not have to move the victim to another place before it can be classified as false imprisonment. This charge can be sentenced as a misdemeanor or felony but can be processed bail bonds Boulder Colorado for the pretrial release.

Elder Abuse

The Colorado law increases the possible sentences to a person who committed a crime against an elder aged 70 years old and above. These crimes include assault, robbery, theft, criminal negligence, caretaker neglect, sexual assault, and exploitation. The defendant needs an experienced bail bonds agent to secure his temporary release through bail bonds in Boulder CO.

For any bail bonds Boulder Colorado concerns, contact Lucero’s Bail Bonds at 303-573-5555.

By | 2021-03-29T12:44:00-06:00 March 29th, 2021|Bail Bonds|Comments Off on What are the Common Domestic Violence Charges in Colorado?

About the Author: