How is drug possession punished by Law in Colorado?

How is drug possession punished by Law in Colorado?

In the year 2012, the recreational use of Marijuana or Cannabis was legalized through the passing of Amendment 64 of the Colorado Constitution. Though, only adults the age of 21 and above are allowed to use and are restricted to possessing up to 2 ounces of Marijuana at a time. Before you rejoice, it is illegal to consume Marijuana in public places such as restaurants, parks, ski resorts, and federally-owned properties. Thus, you always need to verify local rules regarding where retail Marijuana can be consumed. And it is important to know that selling and providing marijuana to anyone under 21 will be subject to a felony charge. As felony is a serious crime, it is best to look for a bail bonds service to help you particularly if the bail posted by the court is exorbitant.

Since Marijuana is legal in Colorado, you might be thinking, other forms of drugs can also be consumed and used recreationally in the area. Well, that is definitely one thing you’ve got wrong. In Colorado, it is still illegal to possess, manufacture, use, and sell controlled substances such as methamphetamine, ecstasy, heroin, and cocaine. Due to changes in the drug laws in 2020, possession and use of drugs up to four grams are considered a misdemeanor which is punishable by a fine amounting up to $1,000 and two years of probation instead of the usual 6 to 18 months of jail. This is due to the fact that Colorado drug law tends to favor rehab or treatments instead of serving time in jail. Ask for help from a local bail bondsman by checking out bail bonds near me if your friend or loved one has been charged with a drug crime.

Drug use and possession become a serious Felony crime when it involves more than four grams of controlled substances based on the scheduled drug list. There are actually five “schedules of controlled substances wherein Schedule 1 has the highest potential use for abuse and Schedule V has the least. To make it easier to understand, this schedule serves as the basis for the criminal charge that a person will be imposed. 

Schedule I Drugs within this schedule include heroin, ecstasy, and LSD has the highest potential for abuse and no known medical use. This carries the most severe penalties.
Schedule II Drugs include Cocaine, Opium, Vicodin, Methamphetamine, and other substances that also a high risk of abuse but have some medical uses. 
Schedule III Substances in this schedule have medical value but can lead to a high risk of dependence. These include anabolic steroids, some barbiturates, and Ketamine.
Schedule IV Drugs under this schedule include prescription anti-anxiety medications such as diazepam, Valium, and Xanax which are acceptable for medical use but have a potential risk for abuse.
Schedule V This schedule has the lowest risk for abuse and comes with minor penalties. Substances in this category include cough syrups and some medications with small doses of opium or codeine.


Depending on several factors such as the schedule where the drug is listed and the number of substances involved, the typical sentence for level 4 drug felony is:

  • $1,000 to $100,000 fine and
  • 6 to 12 months in prison which an additional 1 year of parole

More serious drug felonies which fall under Level 1 can include the following penalties:

  • Up to $1,000,000 fine and/or
  • Up to 32 years in prison 

As the drug laws in Colorado have only recently undergone a number of changes, it has become complicated and includes different variations in penalties that will be charged. If you are looking for a bail bonds service to help your friend or loved one convicted of a drug felony, check out bail bonds near me.


By | 2022-10-27T05:45:15-06:00 October 27th, 2022|Blog|Comments Off on How is drug possession punished by Law in Colorado?

About the Author: